Prerequisites: You'll need to have created at least one group to use these settings. See the groups guide to find out more about setting up and managing groups.
Summary: Link groups to control how certain learners can interact with a learning experience.
Linking a group to a learning experience means that group members can be automatically enrolled on a learning experience as soon as they join the group. The linked groups section of a learning experience shows the current groups linked to the learning experience and lets you link new groups to the learning experience.
| Automatic Learning Experience Enrollment | Adds new (but not current) group members to the learning experience. |
| Restrict Comments | Learners can only see comments from other learners in the group by default (they can still select the View all comments option to see comments from anyone on the learning platform). |
| Members can View | The learning experience will be visible to learners in the group (this overrides the visibility setting in display options). If visibility is set to ‘secret’ and the checkbox is ticked, the learning experience will be visible to group members. |
| Members can Enrol | Learners can self-enrol in the learning experience. This overrides the Allow self enrolment setting in display options. |
| Actions |
|
Organisation Defaults
The following can be configured in the 'Edit Organisation' settings for default behaviour when linking groups to learning experiences
- Group/Learning Experience Enrollments default - when enabled, new group members will be automatically enrolled to the linked learning experience
- Default Group Member Visibility - when enabled, members of the linked group will be able to see the linked learning experience in the platform
- Default Group Member Enrollment - when enabled, new links to a learning experience start with 'Members can Enrol' ticked, so members of the linked group can self enrol. You can change 'Members can Enrol' for each linked group in the learning experience.
Manually
Under New Group you can select a group from the dropdown list and click ADD to link it to the learning experience.
Tags
Tags can be used to automatically assign multiple learning experiences to a group. First, you need to tag a learning experience by going to Your learning experience > Settings > Display Options and adding a tag to the Tags field.
Then, open your group and go to Settings:
Add the relevant tags to Link tagged Learning Experiences field: