Prerequisites: To enrol learners, you need to have a role that can manage user enrolments. If you're an Organisation Admin or Organisation Tutor, or you can manage enrolments on the LX (for example as a Learning Experience Admin), you can enrol any learner. If you have a group role that can manage enrolments, such as Group Admin, you can enrol learners in the groups that you manage.
The enrolments section contains a few different pages: View All, Enrol Users, Enrol Groups, and Import. You'll see them pop up when you click Enrolments in your LX.
View all
This shows you a list of everyone currently enrolled on the LX. You can select a learner or learners by using the checkboxes next to their names.
Once a learner is selected, you can use the four buttons at the bottom:
- SET DUE DATE lets you set a due date that overwrites a due date set by the learner or by the display options.
- SET EXPIRY DATE sets a date on which their enrolment will expire.
- SET COMPLETION DATE lets you set a completion date with the option to add a reason for completion and a note.
- RESET resets their progress in the LX. In an Undertake an Online Course LX, this will remove all completions on all objects. On, for example, an Adapt course, this will remove any bookmarked progress made through the course.
- DELETE removes their enrolment.
You can also edit an individual learner's enrolment by clicking the icon next to their name.
Enrol users
On the enrol users page there's a list of all the learners in your LXP (or all those that you have permission to enrol) who you can select with the checkboxes and enrol with the ENROL SELECTED USERS button. The list shows only learners who are not yet enrolled on the LX so if a user is missing from the list check that they are not already enrolled. If you can create users, you can also click Create New User on this page to add a new learner.
Note: If you are enrolling a large number of users manually, we highly recommend that you use the Sync Group Enrolments described in the 'Actions' row in the 'Linked groups' documentation.
Enrol groups
Enrol groups lets you filter learners by group when selecting who to enrol. This is still a manual enrolment, but is a convenient way to do this in bulk.
Note: If you are enrolling a large number of users manually, we highly recommend that you use the Sync Group Enrolments described in the 'Actions' row in the 'Linked groups' documentation.
First, select the group you want to see from the dropdown menu and click View this group.
Now use a combination of the checkboxes, the SELECT ALL and the UNSELECT ALL buttons to select the learners you want to enrol. Then click ENROL SELECTED USERS. Note that learners who are already enrolled show a tick and cannot be selected. If you're an Organisation Admin or an Organisation Tutor, or you can manage enrolments on the LX (for example as a Learning Experience Admin, a Learning Experience Tutor or a Learning Experience Record Uploader), the dropdown menu lists all the groups in your organisation. If you are not, it lists only the groups where you have permission to manage enrolments, for example as a Group Admin, Group Content Assigner, Group Workspace Facilitator, Group Workspace Admin or Group Record Uploader.
Import
The import screen is for enrolling learners on the LX by uploading a spreadsheet. You can use it to enrol existing learners and to set their enrolment details, such as due date and expiry date. If you can edit enrolment completions, you can also set the completion date. If you can create users (typically Org Admins), the import will create a brand-new LXP account for any row that doesn't match an existing user, and then enrol that new account into the learning experience. The new accounts are created and pick up the organisation's default profile settings.
If you cannot create users (e.g. Org Tutors, Course Tutors, Course Admins), rows for people who don't already have an account are skipped and not created or enrolled. Those rows are reported back as "not created", and you will see a warning that new users can't be added this way. Only people who already have an account get enrolled. You can't change the profile details of existing learners with this import. You can download a template by clicking Download the user import template. This is still a manual enrolment, but is a convenient way to do this in bulk.