Prerequisites: To access these settings you need to be an Org Admin.
Summary: You can switch on a notifications centre which behaves much like notifications on many other online platforms.
What it is
The notifications centre alerts learners to activity that concerns them. This includes replies to their comments or to threads they commented on, mentions, due dates, and the approval or rejection of their evidence uploads. It also shows items such as approval requests, access requests, assigned Learning Experiences and CPE requirements. A bell icon appears next to their profile picture. The red circle indicates that there are new notifications and the number in the circle beneath that indicates how many new notifications there are.
If manager sign-off has been configured, these notifications will also be enabled:
-
The manager is notified when there is an object ready for sign-off.
-
The learner is notified when their manager has signed-off on an object.
-
The manager is notified when the learner has left feedback on an object with feedback enabled.
-
The learner is notified when their manager has left feedback on an object with feedback enabled.
When the learner clicks on the notification centre, the notifications menu appears.
The learner can click a notification to be taken to the relevant object. This also marks the notification as read. They can click the envelope on a notification to mark it as read, or click it again to mark it as unread. The Mark all as read button marks every notification as read. It is disabled when there are no unread notifications. The learner can also switch on Only show unread to hide the notifications that they have already read.
How to configure it
To enable notifications, click on Settings, Services, then In-platform notifications.
Tick the Enabled box and Save your changes.
Using the old notifications centre
Be aware: The manager sign-off notifications will not work with the old notifications centre.
If you want to revert to the old platform notification centre, you can do so. We don't advise you to do this.
Click on Settings, Services, then UI/UX.
Click the Notifications tick box and save your changes.